Fair Housing

The Fair Housing Act is a set of federal, state, and local civil rights laws that protect people from discrimination in all housing related transactions, including rentals, sales, mortgages, appraisals, advertising, etc.

Protected Classes

The Fair Housing Act protects individuals from housing discrimination based upon the following protected classes:

  • Race
  • Color
  • Religion/Creed
  • National Origin/Ethnicity/Ancestry
  • Familial Status (having children under the age of 18 in the home)
  • Disability
  • Gender
  • Age (over 40 in the State of Pennsylvania)
  • Sexual Orientation and Gender Identity (in Allegheny County)
  • Source of Income (City of Pittsburgh)
  • Criminal History

Discriminatory Practices

Examples of Discriminatory Housing Practices (based on one or more above listed protected class) are:

  • Refuse to rent or sell housing;
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing;
  • Make housing unavailable;
  • Refuse to make Reasonable Accommodations/Modifications;
  • Set different terms, conditions, or privileges in the sale or rental of a dwelling, or in the terms of a mortgage loan;
  • Provide different housing services or facilities;
  • Falsely state that housing is unavailable for inspections, sale, or rental;
  • For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent (blockbusting);
  • Set different terms or conditions in mortgages;
  • Make discriminatory statements regarding the availability of a unit;
  • Steer families with children or people with disabilities to the first floor.

Links for more information:

Fair Housing Notice

Fair Housing Resolution

Section 504 Officer